top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

The All-knowing Creative Block


As an artist I feel stuck at times. You know, that unwanted creative block. That frustrating inertia. It doesn't slowly creep in, it just happens, suddenly. At those times the only original idea I manage to come up with, is how to creatively keep from producing art.

Here are some of the ways I keep from being creatively productive:

Procrastination. It's early in the day and I'll think about a new piece of artwork I want to work on. I know exactly what I want to do with it. I can picture it in my mind. So, why do I suddenly have a need to super-clean the house? Then when I finish with the cleaning, it's time for lunch. So I make lunch and sit down in front of the TV where I start watching a documentary. Naturally, I have to see it to the end. Some time around 3:00 pm, I may step into the studio, but by then if feels too late in the day and I don't get much accomplished.

The need to reorganize. I've got a deadline coming up. I must get at least two more art pieces done. I'm stuck on what to do next. I suddenly feel boxed in. The studio is too cluttered. There is not enough room to do anything creative. It's just all wrong the way it's set up. So tables, shelves, equipment get moved around. It becomes a huge project. I've even found it necessary to tear the closet apart and build an office area for my computer and printer.

Too tired. Too sick. Too depressed. What's the real reason I keep myself from working on my art?

Fear. Of making a mistake and waisting materials. Fear of being wrong some how. Fear of success. How hard will I have to work to stay successful? Fear of what family or friends will think about my art. Do they like it? Do they understand my work?

Don't think about making art, just get it done.

Let everyone else decide it's good or bad,

whether they love it or hate it.

While they are deciding, make even more art.

- Any Warhol

Yes, creative blocks are frustrating. And fear does keep me subdued at times. So what are some secrets to breaking free? Unfortunately there are no simple answers, no secrets. Everyone is different, and everyone needs different ways to get motivated.

Some days I just simply do it. I get up in the morning, or I come home from wherever, and don't sit down. I don't stop to eat, I don't turn on the TV, I don't sit down at the computer. I go straight to the studio and start working. This truly works, but why am I'm not always able to do it?

Recently I felt over whelmed and bounced from one project to another. I felt anxious and unsettled. I couldn't focus and realized I was afraid of working on a new painting I was having trouble with. I was frustrated because I was unfamiliar with the medium, it was something new to me and I didn't quite have a handle on it. I wandered around the kitchen finding things to eat. I cleaned up my office area. Finally I sat down and worked on a project I was comfortable with. I was familiar with the material. I felt my confidence return as I worked, I relaxed. Soon I was able to work on the new piece with no stress.

I don't have any easy answers. One moment is different from the next. One method of getting inspired works one day, but not the next. I really think the key is to try to stay creatively active in mind and body at all times. Whether in the studio or whether at the kitchen sink, conceive and do tasks with imagination. What I mean is, every day, come up with new ways to do those everyday things. Use a new bar of soap with a different fragrance than usual. Get out of your comfort zone and drive a new route to the grocery store. Notice your surroundings and take note of new things. Buy a new hat and wear it. Go for a walk. Hang a new picture on the wall.

How about thinking back on what art projects you did as a child. What do you remember about your first artworks you created as a kid? How did you feel at that moment? Do you remember the smell of the crayons, paper or glue? Do you remember the feel of paint on paper, the sound of a scratching pencil. How satisfied did you feel when you got your first recognition. There was no fear, you chose colors without preconceived ideas of what it should be, any piece of paper was acceptable. It was fun, you played and it felt good.​​​​​​​​​​

Every child is an artist,

the problem is

staying an artist when you grow up.

– Pablo Picasso

SoulCollage is a great way of contacting your inner creative self. Either create one or more cards or do a reading. Creating cards will help get you inspired. As you make a card, think about your art. You may become inspired by the card making process, and/or the images you instinctively selected. Do a reading. Sitting down with an intuitive selection of cards will at least quiet your mind. something may spark your imagination, and prompt you to work on your art.


bottom of page